About Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu


First some definitions:

"Bujinkan" =  "Divine Warrior School"

"Budo" = "Warrior Way" or "Way of the Warrior"

"Taijutsu" = "Body Movement" or for our use "Combat Body Movement"


From the above definitions we can say that a reasonable definition of "Budo Taijutsu" is

"The warrior way of combat body movement".

"Bujinkan" is the name given to the organization under the leadership of

Dr. Masakki Hatsumi.


Dr. Hatsumi is the founder of the Bujinkan organization. The Bujinkan is made up of  nine schools or lineage’s. Dr. Hatsumi was given the title of Soke (Grand master) of all nine lineage's by his teacher Toshitsugu Takamatsu. The oldest and most well know lineage is Togakure Ryu Ninpo which has roots that can be traced back to around 900AD. (A full list of the lineage's can be found below) Takamatsu Sensei passed to the next life in the early 1970's. Since that time Hatsumi Sensei has opened the training of these arts to the public worldwide. The art has grown from a handful of practitioners in the 1970's to literally hundreds of  thousands of practitioners today.


In a nutshell Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu is one of a few truly combat oriented martial arts around today. If you look at the history of most martial arts very few are over 200 years old and most have been turned into sports. Budo Taijutsu is taught as a survival based fighting system, because it is not a sport there are no rules to abide by and no forms to learn. Instead we use different basic techniques as building blocks to

look at different scenarios that might occur in a combat situation. Over the last 1000 years of Japans history there have been thousands of different lineage's, and over 200 of those have been "Ninjutsu" lineage's. Out of those 200 there are only a handful left,  one of the oldest being "Togakure Ryu Ninpo". It is interesting to think of how those arts died out, quite possibly with their teachers on the battlefield.


The Nine Lineage's or Schools of the Bujinkan Dojo

 Togakure Ryu Ninpo (Ninjutsu)

Takagi Yoshin Ryu Jutaijutsu (Samurai)

Kuki Shinden Ryu Happo Hikenjutsu (Samurai)

Kumogakure Ryu Ninpo (Ninjutsu)

Gyokko Ryu Koshijutsu (Samurai)

Koto Ryu Koppo Taijutsu (Samurai)

Gyokushin Ryu Ninpo (Ninjutsu)

Gikan Ryu Koppojutsu (Samurai)

Shinden Fudo Ryu Dakentaijutsu (Samurai)


The following is a partial list of the basic areas of study that can be found in the Bujinkan organization:

I want to preface this list by saying that I in no way claim to be a master of all of these studies. We touch on all of these studies at

times in our dojo. Our main focus is on Taijutsu. There are thousands of Bujinkan instructors around the world, and if you search you can find one who specializes in the study that you are interested in.


Basic Areas of Study

Taiso (Stretching & Conditioning)

Taijutsu (Unarmed Combat)

Tantojutsu (Knife Fighting Arts)

Bojutsu (Stick Fighting Arts)

Shurikenjutsu (Blade Throwing Arts)

Kenjutsu (Sword Fighting Arts)

Iiajutsu (Fast Draw Sword Fighting Arts)

Kusarigamajutsu (Chain & Sickle)

Juttejutsu (Iron Truncheon Fighting Arts)

Kusarifundojutsu (Chain Fighting Arts)

Kyoketsu Shoge (Dagger, Rope, Iron Ring Fighting Arts)

Yarijutsu (Spear fighting Arts)

Naginatajutsu (Halberd Fighting Arts)

Bisento (Battlefield Halberd Fighting Arts)

Meiso (Meditation Techniques)

Ninki (Specialized Ninja Tools)

Gotonpo (Use of Natural Elements for Escape & Evasion)

Heiho (Combat Strategy)

Firearms Training